Conference Program

Below, find the conference program from the 2013 National Early College Conference.


7:30 Registration opens

7:45 – 9:00 Optional Orientation session (Early Colleges 101)

9:15 – 10:45 Opening Plenary Session

Raymond Grant, Student, Johnston County Early College Academy
Tony Habit, President, North Carolina New Schools
Marlene Seltzer, President and CEO, Jobs for the Future
Scott Ralls, President, NC Community College System

11:00 – 12:00 Concurrent Sessions

12:15 – 1:30 Lunch Plenary Session
Tara Cardone, Vice President, Corporate Responsibility, JPMorgan Chase
Superintendent Panel:

  • Lavonne Sheffield, Associate VP, Early College Design Services, Jobs for the Future
  • Daniel King, Superintendent, Pharr-El San Juan Independent School District, TX
  • Antwan Wilson, Assistant Superintendent Post Secondary Readiness, Denver Public Schools, CO
  • Austin Obasohan, Superintendent, Duplin County Schools, NC

1:45 – 2:45 Concurrent Sessions

3:00 – 4:00 Concurrent Sessions

4:15 – 5:15 Design Sessions

5:30-7:00 Networking Reception ____________________________________________________________________________


7:00 – 7:45 Breakfast and Special Meetings

8:00-9:30 Morning Plenary Session

Kristyne Estenoz, Paralegal/Interpreter at Robert H. Hale, Jr. & Associates, Early college graduate
Joel Vargas, Vice President, Jobs for the Future
Harold Brown, President, EdWorks
Keynote: Freeman Hrabowski III, President, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

9:45 – 11:30 Innovative School Visits (repeating) (2 visits per attendee of 45 minutes each with a break between sessions)

11:45- 1:15 Lunch Plenary Session

Greg Darnieder, Senior Advisor for the Initiative on College Access, U.S. Department of Education
Nancy Hoffman, Vice President and Senior Advisor, Jobs for the Future
Keynote: Stanley Litow, Vice President, Corporate Citizenship & Corporate Affairs, IBM

1:30 – 3:00 Interactive Concurrent Thought Leader Discussions on Scaling Early College Design
Higher Education Thought Leaders

  • Greg Darnieder, Senior Advisor for the Initiative on College Access, U.S. Department of Education
  • Tom Lasley, Professor & Executive Director, EDvention, University of Dayton, and Ohio Early College Consortium
  • Josephine Reed-Taylor, Deputy Commissioner, Technical College System of Georgia
  • Carrie Pickworth, Research Associate of University: K-12 Outreach, North Carolina State University

Policy Thought Leaders

  • Joel Vargas, Vice President, Jobs for the Future
  • Lizzette Gonzalez Reynolds, Deputy Commissioner, Texas Education Agency
  • Patricia Gregson, Associate Commissioner, Vocational, Workforce and College Readiness Programming, Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
  • Rebecca Garland, Chief Academic Officer, NC Department of Public Instruction

Teachers Thought Leaders

  • Alma Garcia, Program Officer, Educate Texas
  • Joyce Loveless, Senior Director School Services, North Carolina New Schools
  • Suzanne Gibbons, Teacher, Wake NC State STEM Early College, NC
  • Micah Braswell, Teacher, Early/Middle College at NC A&T, NC
  • Whitney Sims, Teacher, Caldwell Early College, NC
  • Nicole Murray, Principal, Duplin Early College, NC
  • Catherine Pena, Instructional Coach, Educate Texas, TX

3:15 – 4:00 Closing session